Letting Go is Hard to Do Part 4

In this last post in the series I want to talk about the importance of moving in a direction. For me, the thing that keeps me from acting is I’m afraid of the result. I don’t want to move in a direction that may not take me to the right destination. I don’t want to take even a small step.

Yet, when it comes to following God, I’m finding that movement is important. God is interested more in the process than in the product. Think about it. He doesn’t need us to accomplish anything. He can do that all on his own. He’s looking to build a relationship with us. That takes time and commitment. He’s looking for us to commit ourselves to him. That means going in the direction he points without too much concern at the result.

God wants you to get in the game. He’s already got plenty of breathing seat warmers, look in any church. Don’t wait until you know the play perfectly. It’s OK to make mistakes. But, get out there and do something. I find when I am consistent in prayer and consistently read the Bible God gives me enough information to take the next step. But, if I don’t take the next step I’m not letting God be in charge and he won’t tell me the second or third step until I prove to him that I’m willing to take the first. Even if I don’t know where it leads.

What’s the next step that God’s leading you to take?

~ by bryonharvey on December 15, 2009.

One Response to “Letting Go is Hard to Do Part 4”

  1. A little over a year ago a leader/mentor encouraged me to take my next step.I knew God prepared me for a ministry but didn’t see it entirely until I pieced my life together and took that 1st step .I seen my choices and experiences (mistakes) were building blocks.I believe today it’s God’s design and not mine, time to take another step.I’ll pray for His grace/will…not warming a seat though…

Leave a Reply

 
