Think on these things

Have you ever thought about what you think about? Okay, I know that sounds like some pseudo-zen question out of a bad kung-fu movie but stick with me on this one. Our thoughts color our experiences. If you’re at all like me when you expect something negative to happen that becomes the focus of your thoughts. Those thoughts then govern your experience. I think this is particularly true in the context of marriage. How we think about our spouses colors our experience of them. That’s neither good nor bad. That’s just true. Here’s the problem. We don’t think about what we think about. We don’t think intentionally we let our minds wander. Our experience then becomes controlled by the capriciousness of our thoughts. This doesn’t have to be our experience. We have a choice, we can control our thoughts or our thoughts can control us. Which would you prefer? Imagine if rather than allowing your mind to wander you took Paul’s advice in Phillipians 4:8 and intentionally thought about whatever is true, noble, right, pure, lovely, admirable, excellent, or praiseworthy. What would your experience be then? Try it and let me know what happens. I’ll share my experience later as well.

~ by bryonharvey on February 3, 2009.

2 Responses to “Think on these things”

  1. […] do you think about your wife/husband In my last post I talked about the effects that thoughts have on experience. Today I want to apply that […]

  2. I think it is a clever idea that one has to control about
    how we experience things. Our thoughts can give color and
    taste to the spectrum of our experience. I have learned with
    age to control my thoughts. Negative thoughts can lead to depression. As I have become more postive, the spectrum of my experiences have become postive. A postive mental attitude
    is the basis for the law of attraction.The law of attraction
    is based on how we control our thoughts or on how we don’t
    control our thoughts.

Leave a Reply

 
