God can’t help it

I’ve been reading Revelation over the past couple of weeks and I can’t get past how much God’s love is revealed in it. I guess I shoudn’t be surprised. It’s just that it’s counter to my presuppositions about the book. I’ve read it before but never seen how much his love explodes off the pages. God just can’t help himself. He loves his children too much to not try to save them. This hit me particularly hard this morning as I read chapter nine. As all of these horrible calamaties are being poored out in judgment of sin one two little sentences grabbed me.

“The rest of mankind that were not killed by these plagues still did not repent of the work of their hands; they did not stop worshiping demons, and idols of gold, silver, bronze, stone and wood—idols that cannot see or hear or walk. Nor did they repent of their murders, their magic arts, their sexual immorality or their thefts.”(NIV)

In the midst of judging the world for sin, God is still looking for people to turn to him. He still wants to save people. He loves them too much. He can’t help it.

This really encourages me. God is looking for chances to draw people into a relationship with him. All I have to do is show up and be available, God is going ot work to draw people to him.

This also makes me love God even more. By this time I would have given up on all these people. Let ’em go to hell. They’ve chosen it. I’d never give someone that many chances. But he’s God, I’m not. He’s infinite in love.

On my worst days, I’m a selfish jerk. On my best days, I love so much it hurts and despeartely want to see people experience God’s love. The fact that God loves this much makes me love him more and love the people that he loves more. It makes me embarassed of my selfish jerk days. It makes me want to grow closer to God so that I’ll have more love so much it hurts days.

I challenge you to pick up a Bible and read the book of Revelation. Look for God’s love in there. I bet you’ll love him more for it too.

~ by bryonharvey on December 27, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
